# February 6, 2010 General Business Meeting Minutes Peachtree Banquet Center, Columbia, Missouri

- 1. The meeting was called to order by President Sarah Booker at 12:45 pm.
- II. The Invocation was delivered by Deborah McAlexander.

A moment of silence was heard for those MHSA members who have passed away during 2009.

III. Sarah Booker presented slate of new Board Members for the year 2010.

MHSA's New Board Member's will include: Holly Dometrorch, Lynn Frazee, Deborah McAlexander, Gina Vehige, Stacy Wright and Kate Younker. The Board Member who has been re-elected this year is Laurel Robinson. Retiring Directors are: Rhonda Boles, Karen Craighead, Liz Drew, Ellen Guss and Andrew Shayatovich. Sarah welcomed all new and re-elected Directors and thanked all those retiring for all that they have brought to the Association.

- IV. **Minutes** Linda Roos, Executive Secretary, made a motion to approve the minutes for the last General meeting as printed. Jane Gaines seconded the motion.
- V. **Treasurer's Report** Linda Faerber reported that the current assets of \$14,339.00 in Checking account, \$11,996.75 in Savings account, \$13,731.33 in CD. Total assets \$40,067.73.
- VI. **Membership and Show Membership Reports** Sue Webster reported that there were 145 renewing members and 17 new members as of 1-31-10. So far this year there are 4 Dressage shows, 3 Eventing, 51 Hunter/ Jumper shows and 18 Show Horses/Ponies shows for MHSA.
- VII. Sarah Booker Presented the Slate of 2010 Officers and Board of Directors to include:

Sarah Booker, President • Michele Smith, President Elect • Jennie Petterson, First Vice President Janet Thompson, Second Vice President • Linda Roos, Executive Secretary • Linda Faerber, Treasurer.

**Board of Directors**: Robyn Armer, Jennifer Bechtel, Christy DeMauro, Holly Dometrorch, Rosy Erganian, Lynn Frazee, Jane Gaines, Colleen Harper-Hertzog, Lisa Holderle, Kelly Hulse, Tami Johnson, Jean Kraus, Deborah McAlexander, Connie Mechlin, Karen Pautz, Jennie Petterson, Stephanie Peterson, Laurel Robinson, Kent Swalla, Gina Vehige, Sue Webster, Jacqueline Wessel, Stacy Wright, Ken Wheelen and Kate Younker.

Sarah requested a motion to accept the 2010 slate of Officers and Directors. Connie Mechlin made the motion to accept. Robyn Armer seconded the motion.

# VIII. Sue Webster made the presentation of awards for the Star Shows and Horse Show of the Year to: Dressage:

**USEF/USDF Shows** 

Competition of the Year: Missouri Dressage Classic

Star Shows of the Year: William Woods Spring Dressage Show, SLADS Fall Dressage Classic

Schooling Shows

Competition of the Year: Queeny Park Equestrian Events Dressage Show

Star Shows of the Year: Cedar Lane Farm Sporthorse Show, Round To It Farm Dressage Show &

**Combined Test** 

**Eventing:** 

Competition of the Year: Missouri Wine Country Sporthorse Show

Star Shows of the Year: CDCTA Fall Combined Test, Queeny Park Mini Event

### **Hunter/Jumper:**

One or Two Day Shows

Competition of the Year: Ridgefield Charity Horse Show

Star Shows of the Year: Bridlespur Show Series, Mechlin Farm Show Series, WWU Jumping Derby

Three or Four Day Shows

Competition of the Year: Irish Fox Show Series

Star Shows of the Year: Round To It Farm Midway Series, Circle City Equestrian Show Series

Five Day or More Shows

Competition of the Year: St. Louis National Charity Horse Show Star Show of the Year: Lake St. Louis Horse Show Series

#### **Show Horses/Ponies:**

One Day Shows:

Competition of the Year: Janian Series

Star Shows of the Year: Prince of Wales Club Horse Show, Longview Horse Park Benefit Horse Show

Two and Three Day Shows:

Competition of the Year: Huntsville Horse Show Star Show of the Year: MHSA Kick-Off Horse Show

Four Day or More Shows:

Competition of the Year: Calvary Episcopal Charity Horse Show

Star Show of the Year: UPHA American Royal National Championship Horse Show

# IX. Medallion Chairman Kelly Hulse Presented the 2009 Junior and Adult Medallion Finalists Trophies -

**Hunt Seat** – Abigail Huse, Champion-Scott Haines Memorial trophy; Stacy Wright, Champion-Otis & Bee Brown Memorial trophy. **Saddle Seat** – Lyndi Skinner, Champion-Scott Haines Memorial Trophy; Abby Mutrux, Reserve Champion; Jean Mutrux, Champion-Ashley Re' Curl Memorial Trophy; W. Ron Talburt, Reserve Champion. **Stock Seat** – Lauren Hagen, Champion-Sir Love a Lot Trophy; Rachel Keefe, Reserve Champion; Dr. Laurie Fowler, Champion-Janian's Midsummer Knight Trophy; Becky Petteway, Reserve Champion.

Photos were taken of all winners with the new Big Checks provided for the College Scholarship earners.

- X. Presentation of Horse Person of the Year was made by Sarah Booker to Kelly Hulse of New Bloomfield, Missouri.
- XI. Presentation of School Horse of the Year was announced by Connie Mechlin.

**Roany** will be named for 2009 - owned by Brenda Benner Stables of Columbia, Missouri won by popular vote and will join the SHOTY Hall of Fame next year. Connie thanked everyone for a large vote this year. And informed all that nominations for next year can be sent now.

- XII. Sarah Booker presented the President's Award to: both Linda Faerber and Jane Gaines for their outstanding contributions to the Board and MHSA in 2009.
- XIII. Art Contest Results were announced by Jennie Petterson. 12-18 years old: 1st "Saddlebred for Christmas" by Alicia Harris; 2nd Laudydale Kate by Danielle Beaver; 3rd Jumper Pony by McKenzie Booker. Adult Division: 1st Watercolor Cowboys by Robyn Armer; 2nd "Lil Wire" sculpture by Deb Booker; 3rd Saddlebred Headset by Stephanie Davidson. Best in Show: "Saddlebred for Christmas" by Alicia Harris. People's Choice: Saddlebred Headset (blue and orange) by Stephanie Davidson. Jennie thanked the 2010 Art Judges Linda Roos and Laura Ward for a great job!
- XIV. Presentation of the Jeff Shikles Distinguished Service/Lifetime Achievement Award by Sarah Booker in honor of Doris Marks. Doris' daughter Debbie Erickson and granddaughter Holly Erickson accepted the award in honor of Doris Marks. Doris Marks was a longtime member of MHSA. She lived in Missouri the majority of her life. She was a dedicated Horse Show Secretary and Show Manager. Doris passed away in July 2009. MHSA was thrilled to honor such a great horseperson as Doris Marks with this year's award.
- XV. Sarah Booker asked for a motion to ratify the actions of the Board for the year 2009. Linda Faerber made a motion and it was seconded by Rhonda Boles.

- XVI. The General Meeting adjourned at 2:00 pm.
- XVII. The Presentation of Year End Awards followed.

Respectfully submitted by: Linda Roos, MHSA Executive Secretary